New EHPM Chairman Vows to drive Constructive Dialogue with Regulators!

The European Federation of Associations of Health Product Manufacturers (EHPM) general assembly recently held in Brussels unanimously elected Alban Maggiar as the new EHPM Chairman. Mr Maggiar has been president of EHPM’s French member SYNADIET since 2005 and a member of EHPM’s board since 2008 where he has served with distinction as Treasurer and Vice President. Through his roles with SYNADIET and EHPM, Mr Maggiar has extensive experience in engaging in constructive dialogue with the European Institutions and national regulators. 

Responding to his election, Mr Maggiar stated: 
“I am honoured by the confidence shown in me by EHPM’s members. As Chairman, I look forward to engaging in a constructive relationship with the European Institutions and industry stakeholders. Positive dialogue can and will secure a regulatory structure for our industry that facilitates its continued growth”
  Mr Maggiar placed specific emphasis on utilising the expertise of EHPM’s national members: 
“Within our member associations, there is a vast wealth of expertise on the regulatory issues being tackled in Brussels such as botanicals, health claims, quality and safety. Through dedicated working groups, this expertise will be fed into the EU regulatory process. As an association, you are only as strong as your members and EHPM has very strong members. As Chairman, I intend to make the best use possible of this strength.”
Mr Maggiar also outlined what will be the overarching theme of his Chairmanship: 
“As Chairman, I am going to place significant emphasis on the fact that the regulation of our sector needs to facilitate SMEs not the reverse. Our sector is composed mainly of SMEs. The European Parliament, Commission and national governments regularly cite SMEs as the driving force of the European Economy. For SMEs to flourish, regulatory requirements need to be digestible. It is my passionately held view that effective regulation and SME friendly regulation go hand in hand and is in the interests of both consumers and industry”
In addition to Mr Maggiar’s election as Chairman, 3 new board members were elected which greatly strengthens the European representation of the EHPM Board;  Mr Harald Dittmar from the German association BDIH, Dr Antonino Santoro from the Italian Association FEDERSALUS and Ms Magdalini Selanikli from the Greek association AFIM. These join the existing board members of  Mr Martin Last from the UK Association HFMA, Ms Marjan Willaert from the Belgian association NAREDI, Mr Robert Sanahuja from the Spanish Association AFEPADI and Mr Mischa Strijder from the Dutch association NPN. Mr Strijder and Ms Willaert were also elected Deputy Chairman and Treasurer respectively. Alan Ruth from the Irish Association IHTA decided to step down from the board having served on the board with distinction since 2008. 
EHPM is in the process of finalising a move to a new office location in Brussels and will also be engaging the services of a full time Director General, details of these will be announced shortly. 
For Further Information:
Alban Maggiar
EHPM Chairman
Direct Line: +33 1 45 63 60 83
Mobile: +33 6 09 47 37 37
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

NOTE! This site uses cookies and similar technologies.

Unless you change your browser settings, you accepts the use of cookies. Learn more

I understand

Information about 'cookies': according to the EU Privacy and Electronic Communications Regulations in force, we are required to obtain your consent to use 'cookies' that help us understand how you use this website. If you continue browsing this site we understand that you are giving us your consent.

Our Mission

EHPM represents the interests of specialist health product manufacturers and distributors in Europe. It works towards developing an appropriate regulatory framework throughout the EU for its members' products, and promotes industry best practices for product quality and safety.

Members Area